WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Fethullah Gülen for his ongoing and inspirational contributions to the promotion of global peace and understanding; and

WHEREAS, A Turkish scholar, author, poet, preacher, and educational activist, Fethullah Gülen has inspired a worldwide social movement that promotes humanistic values and service and is known as the Hizmet Movement or the Gülen Movement; and

WHEREAS, Based on the principle that each human being is of value, regardless of background, faith, or culture, the Gülen Movement offers a multifaceted approach to seeking world peace; it places a strong emphasis on intercultural understanding and the embracing of differences; it values compassionate acts of care and concern; and it promotes the importance of education in laying the groundwork for fostering better relationships between diverse populations; and

WHEREAS, The Gülen Movement emphasizes the core concept that peace is a function of tolerance and dialogue; it offers “Living to let others live” as the foundation of a life of altruistic service and calls on the younger generation to combine intellectual enlightenment with spirituality to make the world a better place; and

WHEREAS, The strength of the universal values promoted by the movement has led to the creation of the Gülen Institute at the University of Houston, which promotes academic research as well as grassroots activity as a means to bring about positive social change; Fethullah Gülen and the movement for social justice he inspired are truly deserving of recognition for their impact on our global society; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend Fethullah Gülen for his dedication to working toward a better world through education, service, tolerance, and the free exchange of ideas and extend to him best wishes for continued success in all his endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Lucio, Fraser, Huffman,
Nelson, Van de Putte

Click here to see the PDF version of the Resolution

Read more at Today’s Zaman

Viewed 1474